Loading Events

« All Events

Neutrality and Objectivity

January 10, 2022 at 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm PST

$47

Date January 10, 2022

Time 12 PM PST • 3 PM EST • 9 PM CET

Cost $47

All webinars are free for CUC Connect members. Click here to learn more.

When we think of maintaining neutrality, many people believe that the goal is to be “objective” – to avoid taking on, or even seeming to take on, the experiences, feelings and beliefs of either party. But in fact, getting close to the parties is crucial to supporting them in reaching a solution that works for both. In this webinar, Katherine Miller will explore how “positive neutrality” – letting go of the idea of objectivity and instead working to connect with both parties, including on an emotional level – allows us to serve them better.

Participants in this webinar will take away:

  • Techniques to engage with parties using positive neutrality
  • An understanding of the pros and cons of positive neutrality versus traditional “objective” neutrality
  • Dealing with judgment when it comes up and blocks connection

Faculty

Katherine Miller

Katherine Eisold Miller is an attorney practicing mediation and collaborative practice in Westchester County, NY. She has been practicing family law since 1987, first as a litigator and now exclusively outside the court system. She has taught family law at the White Institute and NYU as well as with the Center and lectures regularly on mediation and collaborative practice. She is a Board member of the New York Association of Collaborative Professionals.

 

Details

Date:
January 10, 2022
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm PST
Cost:
$47
Event Category:

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Webinar // Neutrality and Objectivity
$ 47.00
Unlimited